About Us

SciPy is developed in the open on GitHub, through the consensus of the SciPy and wider scientific Python community. For more information on our governance approach, please see our Governance Document.

Steering Council#

The role of the SciPy Steering Council is to ensure, through working with and serving the broader SciPy community, the long-term well-being of the project, both technically and as a community. The SciPy Steering Council currently consists of the following members (in alphabetical order):

  • Andrew Nelson
  • Charles Harris
  • Christoph Baumgarten
  • CJ Carey
  • Eric Larson
  • Evgeni Burovski
  • Ilhan Polat
  • Josef Perktold
  • Josh Wilson
  • Matt Haberland
  • Matthew Brett
  • Nikolay Mayorov
  • Paul van Mulbregt
  • Pauli Virtanen (BDFL)
  • Ralf Gommers (Chair)
  • Tyler Reddy (Release manager)
  • Warren Weckesser


  • Anne Archibald
  • Eric Jones (co-creator of SciPy)
  • Eric Moore
  • Eric Quintero
  • Jaime Fernández del Río
  • Jarrod Millman
  • Pearu Peterson (co-creator of SciPy)
  • Robert Kern
  • Stéfan van der Walt
  • Travis Oliphant (co-creator of SciPy)


The SciPy project is growing; we have teams for

  • code
  • website
  • triage

See the Teams page for individual team members.


SciPy receives direct funding from the following sources:

Institutional Partners#

Institutional Partners are organizations that support the project by employing people that contribute to SciPy as part of their job. Current Institutional Partners include:

  • Quansight (Ralf Gommers, Peter Bell, Melissa Weber Mendonça, Evgeni Burovski, Albert Steppi)
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory (Tyler Reddy)

SciPy will always be 100% open source software, free for all to use and released under the liberal terms of the modified BSD license. While we have a large number of contributors who volunteer their time to improve SciPy, financial resources are needed to run the project and accelerate its development. If you have found SciPy useful in your work, research, or company, please consider making a donation to the project commensurate with your resources. Any amount helps!

Donations are managed by the NumFOCUS foundation, which passes your contribution to the SciPy project, and provides the SciPy development team with basic administrative and legal services. NumFOCUS is a 501(c)3 non-profit foundation, so if you are subject to the US Tax law, your contributions are tax-deductible.


The SciPy development team would like to thank the following companies and organizations for providing financial support, services, or development infrastructure:

  • JetBrains: licenses of all their products for all active maintainers
  • Tidelift: financial support for SciPy through the Tidelift open source subscription
  • CircleCI: continuous integration credit
  • TravisCI: continuous integration credit
  • Appveyor: continuous integration credit
  • Azure: continuous integration credit
  • Enthought: scipy.org and mailing lists hosting, holding the SciPy trademark
  • NumFOCUS: several small development grants, and a hosted Mac Mini build machine
  • Google: support for many Google Summer of Code students
  • Intel: Intel MKL licenses
  • BYU: employed Travis Oliphant while working on SciPy
  • Mayo Clinic: employed Travis Oliphant while working on SciPy

This list is ordered by time (most recent contributions first) and was last updated in January 2022.

On this page